Every.Now.Then: Reframing Nationhood

June 29 – December 10, 2017

Taking over the entire fourth floor of the AGO’s Contemporary Tower, Every. Now. Then: Reframing Nationhood explores three urgent questions through the eyes of some of the country’s best emerging and established artists: where has Canada come from, what it is now, and where is it going?

The 150th anniversary of Canada is a moment to rewrite and reclaim the official narrative of Canadian history and move into the future with new insight. Acknowledging that Canada’s sesquicentennial represents a narrow slice of time in the larger historical record of the land, the artworks featured in this exhibition engage with a broad range of cultural, traditional, spiritual and land-based stories. At the heart of the exhibition is the belief that Canada is a dynamic work in progress anchored by strong Indigenous voices and a complexity of cultures and identities.

The multimedia installation features new and recent projects by artists from across Canada, including Gu Xiong and Yu Gu, Robert Houle, Meryl McMaster, Seth, Esmaa Mohamoud, Ed Pien and Shuvinai Ashoona, among many others who are shaping Canada’s next generation of artists.

Organized by the Art Gallery of Ontario

Co-Curated with Andrew Hunter 

Every. Now. Then. artists

  • Barry Ace
  • Samaiyu Akesuk
  • Shuvinai Ashoona
  • Amalie Atkins
  • Michael Belmore
  • Quill Christie
  • Ruth Cuthand
  • Bonnie Devine
  • Rosalie Favell
  • Shauntay Grant with Annie Simmonds and Shyronn Smardon
  • Yu Gu
  • Lisa Hirmer
  • Robert Houle
  • PA System and Embassy of Imagination
  • Abedar Kamgari
  • Myung-Sun Kim
  • Charmaine Lurch
  • Meryl McMaster
  • Laura Millard
  • Esmaa Mohamoud and Qendrim Hoti
  • Norval Morrisseau
  • Lisa Myers
  • Ed Pien and Merrell-Ann S. Phare
  • Tim Pitsiulak
  • Curtis Talwst Santiago
  • Seth
  • Lisa Steele and Kim Tomczak
  • Jeff Thomas
  • Camal Pirbhai and Camille Turner
  • Syrus Marcus Ware
  • Tyshan Wright
  • Gu Xiong
  • Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun

Possession Project

  • Britta B
  • Topher Kong
  • Humboldt Magnussen
  • Sofia Mesa
  • Sister Co-Resister (Kiera Boult, Marilyn Fernandes, Ananda Gabo, Ashlee Harper, Shaista Latif, Syliva Limbana, Pamila Matharu and Annie Wong)
  • William Andrew Finlay Stewart
  • Ekow Stone
  • Marjan Verstappen
2020 Copyright © Anique Jordan